Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Super Delicious Scones

on October 1, 2013

I am a huge sucker for scones. Whenever I go to a coffee shop its usually the pastry I choose to go with my coffee whether its morning, afternoon, or dinner time. I’m not sure what it is exactly but to me they are like heaven on earth! Their crumbly, yet soft and slightly moistness is soooo amazingly delicious… thinking about them has my mouth watering! So, since they aren’t exactly cheap to purchase every morning (or another time of the day) from a coffee shop or bakery, I set out to find the best homemade scone recipe out there… and I did. I’ve tried quite a few and the one I am about to share with you is by far the best! It comes from the King Arthur Brand website. Here is the original recipe. And here is the recipe with the tweaks I made to it:

scones

Dough:

2 3/4 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour (or any flour of choice- I use white whole wheat flour)
1/3 cup sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 cup cold Coconut Oil
1 cup to 2 cups add in of choice (I have done poppy seed, blueberries, chocolate chips, banana)
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract (or any other extract desired; I’ve used almond before)
1/2 cup to 2/3 cup Almond milk (or any other milk you choose)

topping
2 tsp milk
2 tbsp sugar

First, in a large mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients together. Next, with two knives or a pastry cutter, mix in the coconut oil (a few large chunks are ok). Then, stir in whatever mix-in you choose (fruit, nuts, chocolate chips, etc). In a separate bowl whisk the eggs, extract of choice, and milk of choice. Once they are combined, add them to the dry ingredients and stir just until mixture is moist and holds together (Don’t mix too much… the less you mix it the more crumbly and delicately delicious the scone will be!)

 

Next sprinkle and small amount of flour on to the baking sheet (unless you have parchment paper). Place dough on baking sheet and form it into a large circle (or two if you want smaller scones), it should be about 3/4 inch thick. Brush the top with milk and sprinkle sugar on top. Next cut the scones into 8 individual triangles and carefully pull them apart to separate them a bit. Then place baking sheet with scones uncovered into the freezer for about 30 mins.

Pre-heat the oven to 425. And then bake the scones for 20-25 mins or until they are golden brown. Then Enjoy!

** I have made two variations: Coconut Lime Poppyseed (I added 1 tbsp lime zest and about 2 tbsp lime juice and substituted 1/4 cup coconut flour) and Chocolate chip Banana with a peanut butter glaze (added 2 ripe bananas and chocolate chips and made a peanut butter glaze with 1/2 c pb 1/4 c tofutti cream cheese and about a tbsp of almond milk).

 

Leave a Reply

