Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Healthified Egg Salad Sandwich

on September 4, 2013

Hello! Sorry I’m not so great at keeping up with posts lately! We’ve got a lot going on lately… I did take this fall semester off of school but started homeschooling my 5 and 3 year olds (which is going great but time consuming!), and throwing a 6 month old into that mix is quite time consuming as well! So.. It’s no excuse but hopefully  I can post more soon!

Anyway, on to the reason for this post… So this afternoon I wanted to make egg salad sandwiches for lunch but didn’t have any mayo! This is obviously a frequent problem in our house (check this post to see what I’m talking about). This time instead of making my own I decided to get creative and came up with this delicious and nutritious recipe:

Avocado Egg Salad sandwich

1 hard boiled egg
1/2 really ripe avocado
1-2 tsp mustard or Dijon mustard
Spices of choice (I used garlic powder and lemon salt)
Peel and dice egg, cut avocado in half and scoop out one side. Place both into a bowl and mash/ mix together with a fork. Add mustard and spices. Mix until creamy.
I also cut up spinach into thin slices and mix it in, you could also add finely diced onions for extra flavor.
Spoon on to bread of choice and ENJOY! So delicious and nutritious!!!
Leave a Reply

