Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Long Over Due Postpartum Update..

on August 1, 2013

Well, hello there! Long time no talk! πŸ˜‰ So, life got pretty busy over this summer with 3 kids, keeping up with housework, traveling, teaching my kids “school”, and doing my own school work! With all of that going on I just wasn’t able to devote the time needed to posting information and updates on here. But now that I am finished with my summer classes, and with no traveling plans for the next couple months at least.. I should be able to post more information! We’ll see though! Anyway, the purpose of this post is to update on my postpartum health and weight loss progress. So here goes…

Here we are at 5 months postpartum (time flew by so quick!), and about a little over a month ago I hit my pre-preggo weight! AND even lost a pound extra! I was so excited!!! This was the fastest I have ever lost the pregnancy weight :). So happy and hoping to encourage others out there that it is possible to feel and look good after having a baby (or three πŸ˜‰ ). The greatest thing of all is that I didn’t really have to make a HUGE, inconvenient life change to achieve this! Really all I have done is eating well balanced, choosing healthier food options, and cutting back on sweets (still giving myself at least one or two “YOLO” or “cheats” a week); and as far as exercise I’ve just done it whenever possible. What I mean by that is, when I found even 10 minutes of extra time, I would squeeze in a quick workout. This is certainly achievable with videos from Pop Pilates OR this great app I found called the 7-minute Workout!

So, basically for me, some weeks I was able to get in 3-5, one hour long workouts… and other weeks I only got in 2-3 workouts that were 20-30 mins total spread out throughout the day. If you are able to plan your days so you have a chunk of allotted workout time most days of the week… Great! If not, that’s fine too… just get active whenever you have any time at all. Another tactic I have been using for the past 2 years is to walk anywhere you are able to, for example: the grocery store, a coffee shop to meet a friend, to pick up dinner/ jamba juice, etc. Or at least try to go for a walk around your neighborhood with your family for 30 minutes or more, its great family bonding time, you are out experiencing nature, and getting exercise!

So, here is the take home message… Just try to eat better homemade and unprocessed foods and stay active instead of sitting in front of the TV or computer and you should be on your way to living a healthier lifestyle and losing that baby weight! (Breast feeding helps a lot as well… Β its so beneficial for you and your baby! If you are able to do it.. do it for at least 6 months but if you can do it for a year or more that is even better!).

Below is a picture of the progression of my postpartum weight loss (sorry for the cheesy smiles… taking pictures of yourself is kind of hard!). Hope this information is encouraging and helps! If anyone has and comments or questions let me know in the comment box below! Hope you have a great week! πŸ™‚

weightloss

One response to “Long Over Due Postpartum Update..

  1. Melinda Duclos says:

    You look awesome Candace! Great work!

Leave a Reply

