Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Homemade Mayo!

on August 1, 2013

mayo

I was making lunch for me and the boys today… we decided we wanted to have tuna salad sandwiches. As I was getting out all of the ingredients needed, I realized we were OUT OF MAYO! We really wanted tuna sandwiches.. but without mayo, it wasn’t going to happen :(. So.. I started to brain storm a solution. Going to the store was out of the question (me plus 3 kids running to the store for one ingredient seemed to be way too much work in this disgusting heat).. so I kept brainstorming a solution. Then I realized, we may not HAVE mayo but, we have all the ingredients to MAKE mayo! So, I made homemade mayo! It is super simple and turned out tasting way better than store bought!! If you are interested in making your own, the recipe is below:

1 egg yolk
About 1 cup oil of choice (I used olive)
1-3 tsp vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
seasonings of choice (I used salt and lemon pepper)

Place the egg yolk in a bowl. Whisk to break it up a bit, then add about a tablespoon of the oil and whisk until combined. Next add another tbsp of oil and whisk until combined. Continue to do this 1 tsp-tbsp at a time until the mixture was become thick and creamy (This may take 20-30 mins and cause a sore arm!).

Once you have reached a creamy but thick texture, add about 1 tsp vinegar and whisk. Add as much vinegar as you would like to create the amount of tanginess your prefer (make sure you only do about 1 tsp at a time, and taste to make sure you like the flavor). Next add your spices and mix until you’ve reached the flavor you were looking for.

Super simple.. a little time consuming but so worth it if you are a mayo fan like my family!

For a super delicious tuna salad sandwich, mix 1-2 tablespoons of mayo with the tuna; cut up a handful of spinach into small thin slices and mix in to tuna/ mayo mixture; place amount desired onto a slice of whole wheat bread… and ENJOY!

If you have any thoughts or questions feel free to ask!!

One response to “Homemade Mayo!

  1. […] lunch but didn’t have any mayo! This is obviously a frequent problem in our house (check this post to see what I’m talking about). This time instead of making my own I decided to get creative […]

Leave a Reply

