Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

6 Weeks Postpartum

on April 10, 2013

Hello! Sorry for that little break there.. life got a little busy for a bit! Anyway, I had my postpartum check-up last thursday. Everything checked out normal, my weight was down to 133 lbs (only 10 lbs from what I was pre-preggo!) and I was given the approval to go ahead with my previous exercise routine! Since I was given the go ahead, that weekend I ran a mile… and it felt AMAZING! So glad to be able to run again. I definitely had to ease into it though, because even-though I had kept up an exercise routine while pregnant and postpartum… it was still hard!

So, basically I started out by adding 5 mins of jogging to my treadmill routine a couple days before (actually before I was given the approval… but I had been doing a walking routine on the treadmill since about 3 weeks postpartum and gradually worked up to being able to jog). Then a couple days after that, I added 10 mins of jogging. Then after being given full approval to run, I did a mile on the treadmill and alternated between 5-6 mph every minute (it was about 12 mins). Since then I have been adding running into my routine at whatever pace feels right for however long I can manage.

So I’d say postpartum recovery has been going great! I have been eating pretty well balanced. Exercising pretty regularly… 3-4 times a week I do either 4 or 5 videos from Pop Pilates (Cardio about half the time and strength training the other), or 30 mins on the treadmill with 30 mins of Pop pilates strength training videos. I’m still avoiding abdominal workouts until I feel like my abs are healed all the way. I will do planks though. I weighed myself yesterday and I am down to 130 lbs and on top of that I can see muscle tone showing through! So, excited and hoping all of this information can help someone out there! If anyone has any questions please feel free to comment below! Thanks for reading 🙂
image

image

2 responses to “6 Weeks Postpartum

  1. Hooray! You go girl! Love you Candace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

