Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

One Month Later…

on March 25, 2013

It has been about a month since little Evey was born… Seriously time just slips by so fast! Anyway, one month postpartum update- I am hanging around 135 lbs losing a few ounces a week… But definitely losing inches around my hips and waistline. I have been making sure to get the extra calories needed since I am breastfeeding, but eating healthy foods to get those extra cals. I set a goal for myself to eat at least one large salad a day to make sure I am getting enough veggies, and I try to eat 3-4 pieces of whole fruit for snacks. I also try to pair protein with grains for a snack like peanutbutter with toast, granola and yogurt, cheese and wheat crackers, etc.

As far as exercise I have been doing 3-4 days per week of moderately intense exercises for about 45 mins to an hour. Example: 25-30 mins on treadmill (speed walking until I feel comfortable jogging and eventually running)- to get cardio I just increase the incline gradually from 2% up to 8% and then back down; then I spend 20-30 mins doing resistance type training- I usually do 2-3 blogilates videos (arms and legs for now until my abs are completely recovered and healed).

Before a workout (about 30 mins before) I try to eat some kind of carbohydrate for fuel (ex: chips and salsa, or fruit). And after a workout I get protein to help rebuild my muscles (ex: apples with peanutbutter, or yogurt and granola). Hope this helps those preggo or not to get an idea of how to fuel the body and structure a workout 🙂 Have a great week!

image

Leave a Reply

