Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Almost There!

on February 15, 2013

I am just about 38 weeks preggo now! Time seriously flies by QUICK! I had my weekly doctor appointment yesterday.. I found out that I am 3 cm dilated and 70% effaced, which is great! But on the downside my blood pressure was randomly abnormally high (usually around 105-110/ 50-60… it was 140/88!). So, my doctor had me do some blood tests and put me on “modified” bed rest (basically stay of my feet as much as I can), until they can rule out preeclampsia. So, I have another appointment next tuesday to see if there is any change in my bp and check on little Evey. 🙂 I really think it was just a fluke, I have had a cold and the nurse taking my bp was talking to me about labor & delivery at the time… which the stress/ nerves of L &D could totally cause bp to rise a bit! I will however, stay off my feet as much as possible and we’ll see in a few days if anything changes (unless Eve decides to come before Tues… which I would be 100% ok with!). Anyway, so if my bp is still high on Tuesday and other tests come back showing signs of preeclampsia, I might have to be induced 😦 Which would be a total bummer since I was really wanting to attempt a natural birth with this one. So, fingers crossed that either Eve comes sometime in the next couple days or my bp is down at least!

Side note: It is kind of humbling to see that even when we try to control a situation and create the “optimal” conditions… its not really in our own hands. I was very discouraged when I got this news since I have worked so hard at eating healthy and exercising, I just never thought preeclampsia or high blood pressure would be an issue. But I see it as a reminder that I am not in control, but I can trust in the one who is and know the He has a perfect plan for it all… I just need to trust that and hold fast to that fact 🙂

Also because of this, and trying to keep Eve in so that my husband has sufficient PTO to spend a week at home with us… I have been taking it easy these last couple weeks with no exercise. Except for Wednesday when we took a family walk up to the store to fill up our water bottles (about a mile walk there and back). I have still been eating healthy though! Anyway, hope you all have a great week, and keep up the exercise (or take a break if needed), you know your body… feel it out and go with it!

Leave a Reply

