Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Baked Oatmeal for Breakfast

on August 30, 2012

Last night we decided to have breakfast for dinner… my fav! I LOVE breakfast… a little too much sometimes! So anyway, we had an excess of eggs because my husband didn’t know we already had a dozen eggs at home and got two more while we were at the store (I just wasn’t paying attention, otherwise I would have stopped him)! Oh well! So we made scrambled eggs, hash browns and then I wanted to get a little healthy so I made the following recipe:

3 cups rolled oats

2 eggs (beaten)

1/4 cup oil

1 cup vanilla-flavored soymilk (I didn’t have this so I used 1% milk and added extra vanilla extract)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup applesauce (or 1 mashed banana)

1 teaspoon cinnamon (I love cinnamon so I did more like a tablespoon… and added some nutmeg too)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1 Mix together oil, sugar and eggs.
2 Add rest of the ingredients and thoroughly mix together. 3 Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes in a greased glass 9 x 12 pan 4 Serve warm and it is delicious topped with milk and bananas or with yogurt, berries, and other fruit.
(Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/healthy-baked-oatmeal-301960?oc=linkback)

I think it turned out pretty good! I would add a little more brown sugar or honey next time… it was a little bland for my tastes. You can add fruit, more spices, sugar, etc… just keep in mind whatever you add changes the health value to it whether that be for the better or not! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

