Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Yay! Hit a Goal!

on August 28, 2012

I just wanted to post an update because I hit one of my goals and I was really excited about it! So, before I was preggo as I’ve said before, I was able to run  6-6.5 mph on the treadmill for 3-4 miles with no problem and I could do up to 7.5 mph when I was doing intervals… After getting preggo trying to run on 7 for a half a lap made me feel like I was dying and couldn’t breathe (I think because of the 50% increase in blood volume pumping through my body). Anyway, I set a goal of being able to run one full mile at 6 mph with no problems and yesterday I did it!!! I was so excited! I did my usual starting with walking one lap at 4 mph and increasing to 4.5 mph halfway through the lap, then did one lap of half 5 mph and half 5.5 mph, then did 2 more laps of 5.5 mph, then 6 mph for 4 laps!! and then 2 and a half more at 5.5 mph and a half lap at 5 mph… then did a cool down lap at 4.5 mph! So I ran 2.5 miles one being at 6 mph! So excited! So… my next goal is to be able to run 3 miles one being at 6 mph and the rest at 5.5 mph. Now, I want to encourage you all to set some similar goals! (I think this is something any and everyone should do pregnant of not… it gives you something to strive towards and helps keep you motivated to exercise).

And a tip for those who are totally unmotivated for exercising.. the days I don’t feel like doing it, I just tell myself to do a small light workout and as I am doing it I feel better and it causes me to push myself to as far as I would normally go. And after… I feel like a champ for accomplishing the workout even though I didn’t feel like it. I recently read a blog entry from Pop Pilates’ Cassey Ho where she did something similar, its refreshing to know this method works for others, so I encourage you to try it! If you don’t feel like it, just do a light workout and see if you push yourself more, if not… at least you got a light workout in instead of nothing! Hope you all are having a wonderful week and keep on keepin’ on yo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

