Preggo Health Nut

Pregnant and fit is not an oxymoron.. its possible!

Lets Do This!

on August 13, 2012

This week was much better! No sickness really (besides the typical heartburn from your insides beginning to be squished!). I exercised 4 times this week, which hit my goal of 3-4 times a week! My “basic” workout looks like this (in detail):

-25-35 mins on the treadmill for cardio- I always warm-up with a lap or two at 4-4.5 then I switch off days between:

  •  Increasing each lap by .5 mph on the tread mill stopping at 6 mph then descending back down to 5 (usually do 1 lap at 5 mph, 1-2 at 5.5 mph, 2 at 6 mph, 2-3 at 5.5 mph and the last one at 5 mph).
  •  Starting with one lap at 5 mph, and then alternate between 1 min on 5.5 mph and 1 min on 6 mph for 15 mins, then end with one full lap on 5.5 mph and one on 5 mph.

I also always cool down with a lap or two starting at 4.5 and gradually decreasing to 4.0

-Next, I do two of the following workouts: (alternating between emphasizing legs or arms):

  • Inner thigh work out from Pop Pilates (or sometimes the booty workouts)
  • 2 sets of 20- Squats (modified using a chair if you feel unstable), Lunges, Reverse lunges and then wall sit for a min (twice).
  • 3 sets of 10 (with 5lb weights)- Kneeling one arm elbow row, overhead press, standing lateral raise, standing biceps curl, standing triceps extension, Reverse Flys, Supine dumbbell press (on a bench, elevated if uncomfortable flat), supine dumbbell flys, kneeling triceps kickback, dumbbell lat row and horizontal shoulder external rotations. (I pick 7-8 out of these to do each time alternating between muscle groups used).
  • “Core” workout- Plank (2 for 1 min each), Quadraplex (hold for 45 sec on each side twice and then 2 sets of  25 lifts), wall sit (2 for 1 min each), 2 sets of 20 push-ups (I do girl style for more stability), and 2 sets of 20 squats with a kick.
  • Side laying leg work out (I’ll have to explain this one in another post… its all pilates though)

-Last, I spend 20 mins stretching. I’ll post more about what stretches to avoid in a later post… but try to avoid anything that makes you uncomfortable.

So.. That is a typical workout for me. I also try to get out and run with my family or go do something active like playing volleyball etc. This week I also did much better with eating healthier snacks and meals (also, got treated to authentic indian food from a friend… a tad spicy but delicious!). So far, I’ve gained 1.5 pounds and I am in my 12th week now. Feeling pretty great still… but I’m still early in the pregnancy so, we’ll see in a month or so if I’m singing a different tune ;). Hope this helps! And, I’ll try to post more nutritional informational posts with ideas for healthy snacks and meals etc. this week!

Leave a Reply

